Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Mar. 28, 2010 - 11:49 p.m.

Earth Hour-Eco Guilt Trip
**************************

Lights off
turn off your lights
for one hour save
the planet
-or else
I did
but, so what?

Several friends
did switch off
others didn't switch off.

The ones who did Switch Off
sort of lorded it over
everybody who forgot
to Switch Off
and those who didn't
Switch Off
were made to feel like crap
and began to confess
their sins on facebook
the next day

ha ha ha ha !
I not only switched off.
but turned off my main switch
so zero juice
at all flowed into
my domestic space
so I can criticise


I went outside
as soon as i Switched Off
with the sole intent to
spy on everybody else
in my little whitebread town
to see who did
and who didn;t
switch off to save the earth

When I was asked what I did to celebrate " Lights Off "
I said
"I burnt a truck tire "
I quickly received
quite a few uninvited
angry smilies
scolding my freewheeling
approach to our sacred earth
then I upgraded
this cartoon curse to

" let's burn some plastic
and throw batteries
into the lake
to celebrate our
new found sensitivity
to a bunch of
loser animals
and dumb plants..."

This stimulated
a wave of eco crime
confessions from friends who
forgot to switch off
or it was not convenient
to switch off
or they were in
a social space
where they could not
switch off..

Guilt is the first step
towards a dull new day day
of pathological depression

It was pathetic to read
such impious crap from
otherwise good people
I thought knew better

I replied in my own bad form

"...No feeling guilty
about what you use..
thats supposed to be
saved for what we waste.
if youre doing your best
then fuck off everybody else-
- we live,
we use energy-
we leave a bit of
a mess behind..

every time you poop
10,000,000 bacteria
praise God..."

Tomorrow may bring forth
a fresh wave of critism ;
or, as i suspect
calculated
collective
indifference
as the Lights Off experiment
becomes old news,.
48 hrs
is old news


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!