Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Apr. 23, 2010 - 11:24 a.m.

Missing Lynx
*************

My little red cat Taser
has been missing for three days
I have been worried
because this is the time of year
I find run over animals on the highway with crows picking at them
and the foxes and coyotes
are out hunting hard'
to feed their new borns
and they aren't vegans

Three days of not seeing him'
walk around the 'hood
patrolling the yard
or napping on a towel
I was pretty worried
especially at
sunset and sunrise
when i can count on him
making an appearance

So I sort of went to bed worried
and prayed that Taser was OK
and not in any danger
just distracted
then drifted off to sleep
with a vague image of
far away doom in animated suspension
It was not a good feeling
but it was the only one
I had to work with

middle of the night
i was awakened by a friendly meow right in my ear
I switched on the light
and there was Taser
wild eyed & figity
totally encrusted in dried mud
I got up in the dark and opened a can of catfood as he purred and danced
in anticipation of getting
something good to eat

I watched him bolt it down
he was starving
I have never been so glad
to be awoken in my whole life
never has opening a can of catfood
been so wonderful

small advances
little victories'
tiny comforts
all add up

Was Taser down by the river?
thats a long way away
and it's very dangerous there
this time of year
and so is the journey
there and back


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!