Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Jul. 02, 2010 - 11:29 a.m.

Debris of Eternity
******************

For every cup of tea
so many nimble fingers move
so many leaves must wilt and die
so many dreams bank loans
worries to sustain the plantation

so much hard won wasted clay
down the drain
so many nimble fingers
shapes the cup, takes brains
so much fuel is burnt
to kiln it hard
as the glass skin sweats into a sheet
so many miles it travels
around the planet
sold for a dollar
from a pile

so much water is hauled uphill
fusses filtered
pressurized purified pumped
so many gas wells drilled deep
inspected and piped to my kitchen
the naked flames licks the kettle
hydro carbons at my fingertips
for a few beige pennies
I won;t even bend over to retrieve
on laundry day

I am a parasite of
the natural world
I take so much more'
than i can ever give
and when i die
my dead body
will be saluted
like a birthday cake
I may be sorry
I may be undeserving
but i am grateful
for this divine cup of tea
that in an hour
will end up as piss
and a few bubbles man,

so far
eternal life
is very interesting

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!