Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Jul. 31, 2010 - 10:33 a.m.

Washed Up Already
*****************

it is sort of humiliating
when we actually do see our art
in a heap with
coathangers and old shoes,
discoloured plush toys
and pocketbooks nobody ever read
or will ever read
because we think
we have made some
amazing contribution to the
spiritual advance of culture
when in actuality,
all we have done is
been part of a market chain
to feed a bordome hunger pang- distract someone for an hour
and then they tire of us..

The only advance
that is possible
is the self
and ha look at that ..


ya its happening
whether we perceive it happening
or care if its happening..

the impulse was noble
but the delivery
needs some work..


I found some of my work
in second hand stores
this morbid appreciation
for culture flotasm
started when i would see
my cartoons trampled underfoot
in downtown Toronto
as Now magazines
ended up on subway car floors
late Friday night
when drunk people needed something
to throw up on or just kick...
and that was _every Friday night
for years,
It made me want to try harder,
because they _all_
got that treatment:
= thrown up on and kicked

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!