Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Aug. 03, 2010 - 11:48 a.m.

Screamning in the Night
************************

my pal mac is moving to Vancouver
to attend special effects
in film school
he is leaving next week
for two years
with his gf
so goodbye here
for the time being
so we met
at Tim Hortons
so i could learn about his new gf
and see his recent sketchbook
and hear about his plans
Afterwards we walked down
to the lake to watch
the glorious red August sunset
I took some pictures of Mac
looking thoughtful with
the skies of Niagara on fire
in the background

As we were strolling
back to my place
I heard some cats voices
screaming in the dark and I said
" that's Taser-
I'd know his voice anywhere "
Now Mac is a dog person
and thought I was kidding him
and he hinted
I was making that all up
" thats Taser all right,
I know his voice.."

well we stared into the dark
and then the motion detector
porch lights of that house
came on and flooded their back yard
with bright lights
and there,
standing on their lawn
was the original Taser..
in a Ninja pose
in the middle of a fight
with some older fatter cat
this was several blocks away
from my place
but it was him allright..
I'd know his particular shape
and unique character anywhere
i whistled for him
but he ignored me
like all boy cats do
when they encounter
their human friends
off the property
so I yelled out to him
"I will see you at home later"

Taser continued to ignore me
while swishing his tail
in a menacing manor
at the older fatter cat
Mac and me walked on
and he asked me
if I really knew
it was Taser
before the lights came on?
I said "sure,"
and mentioned that
just a few nights before
i was awakened by Taser's voice
in a scream fest
with some raccoons in the backyard
I told him how I
turned my bedside light on
and shined it through the window
into the dark backyard
like a prison camp spotlight
and played the beam on the
menacing figures of Taser
and two enormous fat raccoons
" yes, I'd know
Taser's voice anywhere"

Mac seemed a little doubtful
that cats had such
distinctive voices
but I assured him
that after two years of daily
hanging around
with this fine red cat
I could pick his voice out
from the dark
and distinguish his voice
from any other cats voice..

by 10 pm Mac left here
to spend quality time
with his dogs before he
had to leave them behind
to start a new life out west
I sat down at the screen
and waited for you know who
to come walking in
and he did
as if nothing had happened
Taser doesn't make much noise
inside the house
he is usually very silent.
and so am I am alone in here
but tonight we talked
I mentioned I heard and saw him several blocks away
fighting an older fatter cat..
I whispered
" did you win that fight?"
Taser looked up at me
and blinked slowly as if saying
"Of course I did- I win them all"

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!