Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Sept. 08, 2010 - 10:10 a.m.

Art & Trees
************


I note that almost all
young artists have a deep
kindred affection for old trees,
as profoundly as their weirdo
candle aunts loved angels
and unicorns 20 years ago-
I see so many indie bands
CD covers of knarled old trees
with secret faces in the bark
as drawn by a bandmate
or their GF in pilot markers
on white paper
Its a genre,
like punk just had to have
leather jackets
and stand in front of
old brick walls
as hippies identified with
old barns and overalls
Cowboys with saloons
and dustbowl towns

the love of trees
is as strong
as the love of animals-
show me a young smartie
who adores old trees
and I'll show you someone
who also adores swords
and other such
justice wielding tools

BTW
Love of whales
didn't fare as well
in the long run

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!