Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Oct. 10, 2010 - 1:38 p.m.

Does the Lion Love His Prey ?
*******************************

I just saw Taser
skulk past my window
' looking guilty
or satisfied
or both
and I noticed
he had a dark round object
in his mouth
I immediately recognized as
a fat Chipmunk
whom was very much alive.

I dashed outside
to make the rescue
Taser was not able to get away
with his treasure in time

He can slay anything he wants
in this life
except me
or Chipmunks.
I consider us all equals
but the Cats & Chipmunks
out there
entertain different value systems

while a somewhat
pissed off Taser
tried on vain
to retreat beneath the cedars
with his wiggling prey intact
I intervened
like he knows I would
& shook the brave hunter cat
gently by the shoulders
to set his prize
into an unmanageable wobble

Mr Chipmunk fell free
rolled onto the driveway
and bolted away
I could see
he was the very same Chipmunk
I had been looking at
all summer
sneaking around
under the branches
looking for sunflower seeds
I sometimes toss there
as a peace offering
to all the little animals
my fine red cat
tries to kill & eat

This was the
exact same Chipmunk
I had pulled alive
out of Taser's mouth
earlier in the summer
the exact same one

Chipmunks have
distinctive markings
like race cars
which they resemble
in many ways

This present squirming mouthful
was no doubt a close relative
of the smaller Chipmunk
Taser had vomited out
on my desk onto a newspasper
where i could see
Chipmonk feet and face
in there with my fine red cat's
warm digestive foam

The Chipmonk today
was able to successfully
escape under the fence
and get homefree
before Taser could run around
and intercept him

As I watched all this transpire
in the space of 15 seconds
I could hear the Chipmunk
squeeking in angry defiance
like a rusty clothesline pulley
from the safety of his hole

There is no way
this brilliantly executed drama
is mechanical instinct

This was absolutely personal
that particular cat
slamming up against
that particular Chipmunk

a few minutes later
Taser waddled in the house
very pissed off at me
to over eat store bought kibble
& icily ignore me
as he walked out again
erect tail twirling in the air
_ Traitor !
_ Spoilsport !
_ Whoasked you ?

Maybe 'twas I
who is a slave to instinct
Every other player
in today's game
'seemed to be able to act
with a professional passion
in the law of the Jungle
until the big fat stupid natural lawbreaker
decided to get involved
and ruin everything
again



 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!