Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2011 - 11:32 a.m.

Dumping Facebook
*********************

When I make fair comment
or share reasonable doubts
about sob sister subjects
I get " corrected "
by my Toronto leftie artsies friends
-friends whom I have never met but they feel at ease to assert their tribal style
as somehow universally superior
to the larger turning of the world that doesn't worship at their mirrors
as if I really care
but they are preachy and churchy
about far left exceptions to
the ways of this world
and worst of all,
they cannot take a joke
funny to them is some cruel
put down of world leaders
or their many social enemies

so as a social tool
this facebook thing
I just keep cutting myself
when I am into close proximity
with people I don;t really like

my one year experiment with
social networking is about over
I like sharing wonk and insight
an seeing what moves other people
shapes their journey
but outside of that
I don't care for the rest

I don't really care
whether people I barely know
like what I share or not
their little like or unlike hits
do not define my priorities
Im an artist
I am used to putting on a show
and having some people object
because its not them up there


Insight:

1) the hyper paranoid quit FB long ago
as they fear robot tracking of their whims

2) the irrational are quitting it now
knowing they are being bundle packaged
to advertisers

3) the kooks have had enough of providing free interesting timely content as backdrop for the internet marketplace

4) everybody else just is neither happy nor upset


I was told its not enough to just stop using FB
you have to do an elaborate ritual of shut down
and hand erace everything
they do not make it easy to leave

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!