Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Jun. 04, 2011 - 3:44 p.m.

RIP Lynn
**********

I will tell you that in grade 11
we were taken as a class to the
Royal Ontario Museum
to sketch stuff on a regular basis
we were assigned to do
a full blown painting in the animal gallery
whichever creature we preferred

I caught on that people
selected the animal
that somehow they resembled
and at break time
shared my insight with Lynn

the beautiful mystery girl did the raccoon
the nerdy zit guy did the iguanna
the big chubby guy did the bear
all unconsciously
but there it was

Lynn said I was nuts
but I pointed out
she was doing the __ leopard
and she had copious freckles

she caught my drift
we laughed so hard
the guard came over
and told us to shut up
then we walked around a
nd with great gravity
checked out the rest of the class's selection
and it was a 100%
same look temperament
of artist and their subject
after we had simmered down
we were able to approach
our friends working' one at a time
and observe them
and their selection in progress
and bless her,
Lynn remain completely calm
and enjoyed the joke in private
as the revelations hit us,
one at a time
like bombs going off silently

so much left unspoken
as much value swings quietly past
undetected by others

a lesser chick would have blabbed
and wrecked the magic
of the delicate revelation
but zip lipped Lynn
seemed to know that
they whom shuts up wins bigtime
I appreciated that


she frequently looked in
as I was churning out cartoons
and never made comment
but she knew what I was doing
and bless her
Lynn was the first human
for a long time
to understand why
I would never party, hang around or drink
because it would end
- forever
my secret magic powers

he was completely serious
about her art when she was 14
& it showed
she went on to become a
major artistic presence in the city
the me one I left behind
to live in this dinky little town
amongst the orchards and vineyards
in the middle of nowhere

I loved her like my own sister
and she let me do so
she knew what
that was all about too
without ever saying

On 2011-06-01, at 1:33 PM, Erella Ganon wrote:

Roddy post that on the page. Exactly what you wrote here. It is lovely.

She became so negative recent years that your words will sparkle.

On 2011-06-01, at 1:31 PM, Roddy Heading wrote:

say hello to everybody for me
that will be big job

I knew Lynn when we were 14
intense high school friends for years
that girl could draw and paint
and truly loved to laugh
I was glad to accomodate
she never really changed much over the years

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!