Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Jun. 28, 2011 - 10:56 a.m.

Prophetic Dream
******************

Walking along the the tiny brook
where I hunt for watercress
I saw a dozen or more
large red striped minnows
laying on the wet sand
at the edge of the creek
gasping for air
barely alive.

I quickly filled an empty
water bottle with water
and carefully put them in one by one
through the small neck of the bottle

as soon as they hit the water
sand shook off and they got their gills wet
they revived , quickly & boldly
and began swimming
in agressive circles, chasing each other

but it was very crowded in the small bottle swirling with minnows water and sand
so I ran to get a large pail
and poured the contents of the bottle into the pail
and the minnows thrashed about frantically
in the bottom of the pail
barely covered with water all of a sudden
as i rushed to add more and more water
from the tint brook with the bottle

As l the pail slowly filled
and the water level became deeper and deeper
the minnows swam more freely and confidently
but they knew they were much too confined
in a pail - they could survive
but they could not thrive

I scouted the horizon
and noted the tiny brook
flowed directly to the lake
so I carefully released the pail
of revived strong minnows
into the tiny brook
and watched them form a school
and then as a cluster
dart away, downstream
towards the lake
where they would be able to live
realize their ambitions
and make good use
of the opportunities
a much larger body of water offered

I could not see any minnows anymore
after I released them
but I was confident
they all survived
although some were
more vigorous than others
none were weak
none perished
they all survived

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!