Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Sept. 22, 2011 - 9:56 p.m.

Today everybody at the UN bailed as the President of Iran
began his speech railing at the USA and Zionism -
pointing out their evil machinations for the last 100 years or so.

I would like to see the full text of his speech
as all we ever get are quickie clips and commentary'
Iran is not some hole- its a major civilized country and
this is their president addressing the world in their enemy's
greatest city. I guess he was disappointed that Palestine's bid
for official statehood got shot down by the Zionists and their lapdog
superpower the USA..

That's nerve..

Anyway- he's fodder for the cartoon gun
Tonight I am sharing construction secrets
that I usually don't address in words- but
I might as well before Taser comes home for supper
and jumps up on the table. This week is burrs in the fur week
as the weeds ripen taser gets full of burrs and stick tights of every
description. I guess he wanders far into the fields and waste places
looking for cat treasure. If he wore a camera it would be super exciting
to watch where he goes..

back to how I makes cartoons,
but not a decent living

1)I stare at a few pictures of the guy to study his fixed facial features-
a glimpse of him in life is best but hey, no can do sometimes. POhoto reference is the best I can do

2) quick pencil sketch, and I mean quick- lingering on subject's geography is a bad idea when all I want is borderlines and masses. If I can't nailthem in pencil in 15 mins I consider it an off day and ripp the
contaminated page up

3) Ink subject using my smashing new nibs and fresh ink on new high end
paper. This is where the subject's character comes out, and with Mahmoud
baby it seems to be thinly veiled disgust. I bet he enjoys a good laugh
though and is a great reader if his stress eye and forehead lines are
sincerely displayed.Inking is delightful and I am always amazed that I
slip into a lucid dream state while inking but snap awake when i am
nearly done.I have to check that I didn't cheat and introduce elements
from some other person I have stashed away in the grey matter. Mockery is
blending this impulse. Its delightful to test drive a few setups before
committing any of them to paper-
Had I wanted to activate mockery I would have accessed Julian from the
Trailer Park Boys or whatshis face from Taxi Driver the movie..I work
hard to cut out any Hollywood freudian suggestions as I know they are
masters of bulk seeding the imaginations of everybody else down here..
- we;re talking supernaturally skilled - but I always win, as master of my own universe.I note the CBC is particularly susceptible to this influence - which is why i don't like them

4) Sometimes if the light is good i will half tone a cartoon- this is so
cool. One drop of india ink on a plate gives me infinate shades of grey at
a fraction of a penny per illustration, just add water- and its instant
and satisfying to whip the brush around and have the character take on
weight, gravity, temperature and proximity. ya I know all art is
deliberate illusion, and I am the first to admit it and thus the first to
see it on the radar. Its fun to watch it shaping up everytime..same as
every sandwich is fun to make - satisfying when its complete.

5) I am of the opinion that nothing cool can ever be created with
photoshop or graphic programms. as anything - ANYTHING that gets in the
way of the clumsy crash of impulse is the enemy. Swordfighting on paper
with an actual sharp object is like surgery under a microscope. I can
scoot between the cells, and divide the healthy growth from the cancer and
push the bad stuff off the operation table with a satisfying plop into
the pail

6) tomorrow I will half tone this illustration..If I am in the mood,
Sometimes I save this step up until i feel crisp and can bang out a half
dozen half toned ones in the space of a single afternoon without looking
up.
If I am not feeling crisp, wow i just wreck it with insincere floor washing.

there now that I am getting somewhere with the image capture and resize I
can relax and get back to work. paper obeys me instantly, but computer
programs make me do their bidding and accept their limitations and I
won't so we fight. As soon as i figure out how to box canyon the Image and
beat back the computer which I fight like 1000 wild mustangs on crack, I
can make progress.

still, I hate the machine part and would like to just do the paper part
but I am stuck doing Windows community service for a crime i didn't
commit.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!