Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Oct. 28, 2011 - 3:28 p.m.

21st Century Gentleman
**********************
it's been cold wet
and gloomy all week
major neg emo for everybody
Then I received a curious message
the other day,
from that lovely woman
I was once so sweet on last year
til I found out
she was just using me to make
some other guy jealous

Blah blah blah etc--
shes unemployed
and now has time on her hands
to catch up with me
just let me know she
"... would have invited me
to her wedding-
but she wasn't sure
if I still liked her...."

Many thorns on that rosebush
present themselves..

A) she's a married woman now- forget it
B) she's setting me up to say I like her
C) why does she need to keep me in reserve- spare parts for stray hearts ?
D) I don't think her husband is unemployed, & I suspect he's not around when she writes to other old flames
E) when I asked after her to her brother in the summer he just closed his eyes and slowly shook his head-
no more questions
no more answers
I dropped that one fast

so I replied to her note
" Congratulations...
a long and happy life
to you both- amen
That's quite alright
that you didn't invite me
to your wedding
Maybe invite me
to your next one "

There. that says
I still like her enough
to salute her
with truth and warmth
and still be a
21st century gentleman.

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!