Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Mar. 30, 2012 - 6:43 p.m.

Mighty Meat Log
****************

As my man cat Taser is now
totally grown up & mature
he leads his own separate existence.

This is how it should be.
We are supportive friends
hipster room mates -
except he doesn't tidy up
or pay his half of the rent.
That is just how it is.

So he eats here
and in cold or bad weather
or when injured he sleeps here.
In the summer we will
hang around together
escaping from the heat
if I have ice cream
or he just wants a long leisurely
head scratch
like, who doesn't?


Our friendship has matured
no demands
no resentments
no drama
no pressure

just fun and support
and the best thing
that friends can do for each other
and that's
not to get in each others way

whats left
is honour and respect
and that's practical love
the way we like it
life lived close
without tears or drama
guilt or doubt
just honour and respect
the best part of love
as it should be

well today he strolled in at dawn
ate his food and then plopped down on the rug beside my bed and fell asleep
full and snoring like a lion
An hour later I got up
and stepped over him
to begin my day

At noon I went into the bedroom to put on a sweater as its cold again'
and I saw Taser had rolled over and slipped into my bed,
OK fine I m not using it
Knock yourself out
I went to the post office and food shopping and ran errands
and looked at the lake
from a distance
indeed I could feel the snow on its way

Around 4:30 I came back home
I was cold from being outside
foolishly under-dressed for the cold
I decided to take a take
a 20 min power nap to get warm
as I knew the evil snowstorm
was on its way Id wake up from a quickie hibernation and maybe
spring would have returned

Taser had not moved one inch
not even rolled over since he commandeered my bed at 8 am
a full eight hrs before
so I laid down and napped beside his deep sleeper red wild cat shape
and he never knew I was there
and when I got up 20 mins later
he had still not moved an inch

I looked in on him out of curiousity
as I wondered if he was still alive
I had to strain to observe
his ribs gently rise and fall
I seriously wondered if he was dead
he hadn't moved one bit
he was in a crime scene
playing the part of the dead cat

a full 10 hrs after passing out
he awoke and padded around
yawning like a yoga master
and blinking in slow motion
and then sat there and stared at me
with half closed eyes
till I opened the door for him

he walked over to the woodpile
stretched like a cartoon coyote
and sharpened his claws
on a bog chuck of walnut

that was that
then we walked around the corner
and began his private life
for the evening
when i can't see him

Tomorrow is Earth Day
at 8 pm we human are expected to refrain from using all electrical power for one hour and live naturally
for 60 mins.. as a salutation
to the Planet

Taser does this 24 hrs a day forever
and everything he does is sustainable
as long as I feed him
and don't expect him to vacuume

he is more than happy to be
designated vermin slayer
that's fine by me

nap on red slayer upon
the blanket of bliss
feed well on the kibble
of eternity
drink deeply
from the water of life
for tomorrow
you will rise
to love & fight again

Only the brave deserves the pure


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!