Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Apr. 13, 2012 - 8:39 p.m.

In Like a Lion, Out Like a Light
*********************************

As I sit here working
I can't help but notice
a sudden loud rising pitch
on the chatter of the squirrels
in the trees above
and, as I expected
a few minutes later
Taser, my four year old red cat
sashays down
the sunny spring driveway
towards the house
piped in by the shrill angry voices
of a dozen squirrels
with major hate ons for him

He does not blink
or break stride
beneath the excited dim of
the squirrel chorus of curses
aimed specifically at him.
They scream like angry
drunken Romans
at Ben Hur
winning the chariot race
against some Imperial asshole.
Taser walks proudly
past their thumbs down
like the confident winner he is

He gracefully hops over the step
and follows me into the kitchen
where he waits patiently
as I top off his food bowl
and pour him some fresh milk
into his favourite cup
He begins eating
as the angry music
of squirrel hate songs
wafts through the window

The bright yellow daffodils
favour neither
the squirrels nor the cats
but are indifferent to
all of us
quarreling warmbloods

Taser finishes up his meal
jumps up onto his special chair
and prepares to grab a quick nap
as a wild eyed
squirrel observer
spies on him through the window
and calls out the alarm
to his up tree community
to refresh their mocking shouts
aimed at the sleepy slayer
as he drifts off to dreamland
his name and soul
cursed to the fiery gates
of squirrel hell
by those whom he would eat
if I didn't feed him
as often
and as well
as I already do

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!