Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Apr. 17, 2012 - 9:20 a.m.

In spring
about this time
I can't help but notice
that there are suddenly
several mice in the house

I guess its their
winter infants waking up
as teenage mice
ready to move
their party outside

But untill then,
very late at night
when the house is quiet
except for the barely audible
refrigerator humm
I can hear the resident mice
walking across paper
& searching the broom for crumbs

When my red cat Taser
is off base on a 48 hr pass
the mice get loud around midnight
and become annoying about 2 am
I never see them
but I can hear them

Last night Taser decided he
was staying in to catch up
on his meals and naps
and was fast asleep
in the studio at midnight
when the mouse offense began

When we heard the first rustle
of the resident vermin
Taser snapped awake
like a shark
dived off his chair
as a Ninja whirlwind
and descended into the darkness
of the kitchen on the silence
of his marshmallow feet
to break up the mouse party
just as it started

All I could hear till
the rest of the night
was the barely audible hum
of the refrigerator
til the birds of dawn
began their daybreak
salutation chorus

The mice will be moving outside
earlier than they had planned
thanks to the vigilance of the
Scarlet Avenger

Like the Ancient Egyptians
used to say:

Its so nice
to have a cat
around the temple


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!