Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Apr. 28, 2012 - 6:07 p.m.

My Cat Remembers Things
*************************
I sit here amazed
as my cat goes back in time
and has all afternoon
presented in the form of
a little play just for me,
a pantomime of the things
we used to do
three and a half years ago
when he was just a kitten.

He pawed at a box
he used to sleep in back then
that I now keep paper in
making sure i could see him
doing this.

Then he sang some weirdo
throaty vocalizations
( I dare not say songs )
he used to as a kitten,
I had completely
forgotten about them-
one was "catch me "
the other was " I love this catnip" after I gave him some today
playing along
Seems hes putting on
a nostalgia show
just for me..
not all at once like a TV show
but he'll
come in here off and on all day
and perform something
that lets me know
he has memories..

now heinsists I clear a chair for him that he has not sat on in three years andis now laying on it- he's much bigger than he was was when he used to lay on it.. he hangs over the sides

Whats with this cat nostalgia display?? he has food so he's not acting out
that he's hungry.
I open the door for him
but he doesn't want to go out

I wonder deep down
if he has not communed
with the cats across the street
who told him
their human is dead
as my old neibour Ted
died a few days ago
and did these orphan cats
suggest he re enforces
his bonds with his human-
( that would be me )

Did Taser put on a deliberate
show of special moments in review
to show me something he was feeling ?

it was a little theatre here today I have never experienced that before

Now he's curled up in a ball
on a chair too small for him
playing the nice cat sleeping,
usually he disappears
into adark closet to nap
and i leave him alone..

and today he walks on me
as he steps
off the desk onto the floor-

he hasn't done that
since he was too small to
jump straight down to the floor

Indeed, I got a little emo show
this afternoon --

one or
two recreated events
would be a co incidence,,
but all of these acts
in a row since noon ?

its deliberate what ever it is,,

when I saw him reach for my pencil
as I was drawing with it

he used to swat at my moving pencil when he was tiny -
but hasn;t in a very long time
I looked him in the eye-
then he head butted me..

something is going on
I have never seen
this behavior before,
even when he
was hurt bad
from the coyote attack
in the winter
and I was taking care of him.

It's the Androcules factor..

go ahead tease me
and call me a cat wacky,
but I am seeing this today
as acontinious demonstration
of my four year old car Taser remembering how we used to be
when he was small...

more than three years ago...
he's four years old now...
odd but very nice

Taser has been more chummy today
than he has been for the
whole pf last winter put together..

My cat is saying thank you
in an all day salutation
without prompting
and hes well and fed

this is a new one for me and its OK

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!