Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Jun. 11, 2012 - 11:15 p.m.

Surprise at 3 AM
******************

I heard weird noises
in the backyard
late at night
and got up and
shined a light
out the window,
hoping to interrupt
a marauding raccoon
a thieving possum..
maybe even a coyote assassin

Sweeping the yard
with the spotlight
like a Nazi concentration camp guard
I was surprised to see -- frozen
not moving at all
just inches away
from my bedroom window
in a bush
under the eves

two robins!

- Mr & Mrs
spending the night.
They squinted at me
seeming to say-
" just don't, OK? "

I quickly switched off the light
and said nothing
Out of respect..
nobody need mention
this incident again.

Heck, I recognised them
as the very same robins
fluttering in my yard.
I was honoured that
they chose to sleep
so close to me..
he who feeds & houses
the red slayer...

I will never
seek these birds out again
so they can enjoy
my respect and
protection
of their great secret..


all they have in this world
is the secret
of where they go
to dream in safety.

Where do birds go at night?
The ancients asked
that same question.
We see thousands of them
during the day flying about
yet almost never see a dead
bird on the ground either..

where do birds go to die?
Ancients asked that question also..

nobody knows

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!