Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2012 - 11:09 a.m.

I woke up in the middle of the night
and I could hear weird bubbling sounds
so I switched on the lamp
it was my cat Taser
noisily digesting
some small animal
he had caught and eaten

He had crawled onto my bed
for a midnight vacation

Hey he's never indoors in summer
and never on my bed- what gives ?
He must be hurt or wounded
so I examine him
as he lays there in a sleepy stupor
nope.
he seems ok,
maybe a little dusty
but intact and not leaking


As I drift off back asleep
at the crack of dawn
i can hear him merrily
crunching kibble in the kitchen

Soon afterwards
I officially wake up ,
he's still there on the bed,
motionless

so I look him over again for damage but he's fine

I am in the bathroom and he comes in
blinks yawns and watches me
= odd, its been years
since he took any notice of the bathroom at all

So I feed him again
and assume he'll go outside
afterwards on his own

nope. He won;t go out
the back catdoor insists
I let him out the front

I sit down at my desk and watch him sniffing the air
and strolling down the driveway

then out from behind the hedge
steps the huge black cat
who takes such pleasure beating on him
who has been waiting for him
to beat on him once again

a chorus of screaming and growling
tail swishing cartoon fury of cat wrestling hurricane

like all his other struggles
he didn;t win this one either
and proudly skips away
to the cover & safety
of the neighbors recycle box

As todays war wound down
he walked across the street
to get a change of scenery
but as soon as he got
in the sightline of the gap
between two houses
a tethered dog spotted him'
and began to bark wildly
and jump at the wire fence
in his honour


Taser full of remorse
flopped down on the lawn
under the trees
for a bit of a recovery nap
but then the squirrels
noticed him
and gathered
directly overhead
in a revenge gang
screaming and cursing
the day he was born
dropping leaves on him from above
in their naked contempt

Bluejays joined in soon after
it was a little sad to see
all this hare directed
at my little friend
who is so tender at home


It seems he doesn;t have
any friends at all out there
in the animal community
except the raccoons and skunks
who are somewhat aloof

I am his only friend
me and a few of my friends

not even five years old
and an outcast from nature
all he can do is try to fit in
here with me

I wonder, do cats have
any real friends?
or are they destined for
hate based solitude ..

The big cats: Lions & Tigers
are rather clubby
leopards and cheatahs
maintain family connections

but the smaller felines:
lynx, bobcats, cougars, wild cats
tend to be solitary animals
esp when they are older
where as dogs wolves & coyotes
are pack animals
constantly in each others business sniffing each others butts
playing out a canine economy
of dominance rituals

I guess Taser's golden era of
" loved by everybody "
is pretty much over
since he is hated by everybody
everybody but me
and he knows it

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!