Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Oct. 28, 2012 - 3:35 p.m.

SALVATION ARMY
**************


all those random volunteers working in unaccountable chaos
and they don't diddle kids.. or loot

I think of my Grampas' neibour,
Mr Cordy
who was about 65 in 1960
after his wife turned into
a screaming banshee after menopause
he joined the Sally Anns,
suited up in his uniform
and took the bus downtown
to work in the slums
of downtown Toronto.
All he would say was
he was ..
" over the shock of
how could people do these things to
children, and focused on
what can he do to fix it.."
that's Gods' work

The Sally Ann saved him
on many levels..
he had so much basic
rural Canadian goodness
and quiet fatherly strength in him
that was not being put to use
after his kids grew up.

After he retired from
his lifes' work behind some desk
he put into practice
all the Christian values
he had spent
the first half the the 20th C perfecting..

-immigrating to Canada,
-fighting in 2 world wars
-raising a family in the depression
- working in a series of boring dull jobs his entire adult life.

Mr, Cordy was never preachy
or churchie .. he was just
a nice guy
sober, clean,cheerful.
The model modest Christian white man
every doped up fag atheist hates

The other great strength
Mr Cordy received
in Sally Ann Service
was realizing
an unfulfilled ambition to
...make music.

He joined the Sally Ann band
and learned an instrument
at the advanced age of 65.

Many times when I was at my Grampas
I would hear from next door..
the manic unholy rage screech
of Mrs Cordy trying to out volume
Mr Cordy playing hymms
on his alto trombone

My Gramma would say something nice like
..." he plays so beautifully
because he practices every day! "

and my Grampa would side cat call under his breath to me
.." so does she "

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!