Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Nov. 22, 2012 - 12:36 p.m.


Dream Bandits
*************
the scene:

After several days awol in cold November weather my big red cat Taser decides to comes home, eat his fill and pass out on his special chair. He gurgles a little and grooms his magnificent fur coat and settles down to drift into that super duper deep sleep.

You could strike a match across his teeth and it wouldn;t wake him when he does that deep into slumber. He is definitely down for the count., I have never seen any other living creature be that much asleep So gone is he at times like this, so shallow is his breathing and so totally stiff is his body I feel a compulsion to check if he is still alive.

fast forward:

Someone sends me a vintage SCTV link with Bob & Doug MacKenzie- the adventures of two young alcoholic neer do well idiots that some how defined canadian culture for way too long with their retarded antics.

I watch it, its nothing special unless you like stupid drunken people breaking things- Obsessed with beer and baked goods and repeating a few catch phrases again and again. In one scene they are trying to take a donut away from a huge dog who growls at them on screen


Taser snaps wide awake in two seconds ready to fight the intruder. His fur bristles out he doubles in size like an explosion he sniffs the air like a Ninja warrior ready to draw blood and then jumps down to investigate every inch of the house, looking for the dog that isn't there.

Five minutes later he returns to his chair,very angry ay something, jumps up as noisily as he can, glaring at me over his normal sized shoulder and settles down to sleep= one eye open like a glowing coal on a fireplace staring at me..
forgiven but certainly not forgotten

How can i explainto a comatose cat he was re-eacting to a studio dog bark from 30 years ago?.... i can't

and tuna doesn;t help, I tried

I recall when he was very small he reacted to a video clip of a raccoon hissing at a kitten .. he also went puffed out fur in response..but he was not nearly as big at the time as he is now

So its not just the noise of a dog- it must be the actual meaning of the aggressor animals words he is reacting to.. whew! Taser grew up in my TV free home so he did not get to experience any pop culture pet dialogues. Makes perfect sense to me

I think back to the old style RCA logo of the little dog with his head in the speaker of the early 20th C Victrola gramophone music box. reacting to the familiar sound of ........." his masters voice"..........

Taser remains the smartest cat in the world, a real details guy..
responding in like to
....." his mortals enemies' voice "...

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!