Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Sept. 02, 2013 - 2:18 p.m.

How Sweet It Were
********************

We have so much going for us
Its late August
I lazily spit a peach pit into an empty tea cup
and left it out overnight
there must have been some shreds
of peach pulp on it
as there was a tiny cloud of fruit flies
hovering over the rim
taking turns
dive bombing into the sucrose potential
within the confines of the tea cup
first thing this morning


I still didn't take the cup and pit away
into the sink of neglect
Instead, I used a fresh cup
to drink this mornings tea

avoidance is a creative process
but I did watch
out of the corner of my eye
a small spider
scoping out the fruit fly armada

but I had more important artie things to do

mid day I noticed that the little spider
had built a silk bridge spanning from my work desk
to the little side table where I keep my art supplies
and empty tea cups: some of them with peach pits

by sunset the spider
had set himself up inside the tea cup
and constructed a serviceable web over the wet peach pit
and was reeling in fruit flies
at a rate McDonalds would envy

he worked alone
without competing against any other spider
or showing off to girls or peers
he had no vendetta against the fruit fly community
he ate what he slated
and wasted nothing
he seemed to be enjoying himself
and the fruit flies never seemed to notice
their population decline

the sun feeds the peach tree
and generates nourishing globes
the peach fed me
the worthless scraps of peach pit
I casually discarded fed the fruit flies
the fruit flies fed the spider
and the spider ..
the spider isn't saying much
and declined to comment during his busy season
the sun shined down on all of us
and lit the dramatic tableau

�.jackpot

a trillion fold everyday
everywhere
always
forever
and maybe on Mars


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!