Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Nov. 16, 2013 - 11:44 a.m.

Red Rose Tea
**************
.. long before Red Rose Tea Inc
gave out Free bird cards of North America
or little nursery rhyme inspired pottery figurines
they tried to reach a younger
" non old lady " market
with innovative TV ads--

this was bad television at its finest-
the world media
that brought us all together
in spite of our deep
cultural and political differences.

And as a result,
I drank a lot of Red Rose tea
and still,
as I bring a cup tof this
classic brew to my lips,
my mind is still flooded
with these eternal images ...
of a better life
than the bleak existence
of my unfullfilled shadow life
in noisy struggling
working class family
who was not benefitting from
the creeping gentrification
that was transforming our dark corner
of civilization and becoming
the now comfortable,
prosperous& expensive ... Upper City

I ached to live
like these happy
well adjusted characters
in the Red Rose adverts..
.but I was just ...
just not good enough..
and never would be good enough

I remember this one
from mv early youth..
and not really getting how TV worked,
when ever I managed to catch this ad..
I figgured it would re appear
on the same channel-
so I watched hours of crap waiting -
soap operas, professional bowling,
Upper NY state news,
talent shows with endless parades
of accordion players....,
etc hoping in my child mind
to desperately re connect
with this particular ad
hoping it would re appear--
but rarely did it

I just watched
a lot of bowling and weather
in a giddy state
of anxiety and hope

but when it did manage
to catch this particular advert
I was energized
for the rest of the day
I felt alive and clean
and favoured by Heaven

here it is again, for us all to enjoy
either for the first time
or for the 1000th timea

but you are spared
the German accordion ballads
and fires in Tonawanda..


---------------------------------
this is what inspired me to embrace the television and filmic arts when I became a man---
to awaken the creative spirit within and ride that impulse for the rest of my life
to take the firebrand and light the world..
-----------------------------------

Looking back at the wonderful beings
in the Red Rose Tea adverts,
I am at peace now
with my portion in life
I work hard and honestly
and sacrificed in vain
to achieve this -
what I saw was possible
in the Red Rose Tea adverts

It all seems so vain now
but for so long- for so very long
I wanted to be with
these wonderful graceful generous souls
living in Red Rose Tea land


even if I am still not good enough to join them in Red Rose Utopia
..I know tried my best
and thats what really matters

not everybody is a winner in this life
but everybody admires a winner
at least everybody
who has tried their very best

I am sorry for going way more emotional
than I had planned
but at this stage of life
why hold back?
Why not just stand up
and yell loudly and proudly

".... Red Rose Tea, --you gave me my values .
you defined my goals
you shaped my dreams..."

I can die happy now

------------------------------------------

.http://youtu.be/-918OMwCx6w

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!