Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Mar. 05, 2014 - 5:37 p.m.


Where Does My Cat Go When he Goes Out ?
*********************************************

I tracked him
in the fresh snow this afternoon.
Just because I could
the snow is deep enough
to make him very efficient in his route
but only five inches deep
so he can still get around
He comes in from the front
off the street and then..

...and then

he circles the house'
looks in all my basement windows
and the neighbours as well
walks along their fence
and onto their deck
looks into their kitchen
through sliding doors
then under the hedges
over the fence
snoops in my shed
walks back
to the alley between the houses
and does a little dance
in the middle of the yard
his tracks are going round
as if he is watching UFOs
he is not digging
but more running on the spot

and then he jumps over the back fence
and goes off from there
to where I will look tomorrow

thats a lot of inspecting
lucky for everybody
its not deathly cold anymore
but its not fun cold either

so this is more
his regular inspection tour
from which I can surmise
he seems to run
the whole neighbourhood
i had no idea he watches so much

Todays study only showed
the task of tracking him
to find out if he has a second home
will be much more difficult
than I had anticipated

all this and he didn't even
cry under the window to be let in
he probably comes here
every day inspecting his turf
he has a large and complex route
I looked closely
its all his tracks
no other cat tracks intersect
cat inspects much closer
than a dog ever could

I did him a favour
and feet ploughed
his main route so he will have
an easier time next visit
I hope he recognizes
my tracks like
I recognize his

someday when science
lets people and cats talk
lots of our science and history
will have to be rewritten

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!