Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Apr. 15, 2015 - 1:52 a.m.

Letter to Piper
**************
art everyday
is so worth it
we never ever get worse
even after a time lapse
we arrive at our last elevation

i just photograph flat art in sunlight
and tweak it on basic picasa
image program
its no big deal
someday
I will reshoot
everything on
an ideal set up

if i have to
i will shoot under a desk lamp
and pump it up afterwards

the less i fuss technically
the better i like it

temptation is to work small
because its comfortable
best deal is to work
a few sizes up larger
than you are comfortable
even if it starts to
take over the whole page


I constantly piddle around
with technique till I like it
I don't like them all
some crash
the occasional one works

Right now for speed
I work on card
do as much as I can in pencil
Inkline if its a cartoon
- which is a hassle
but it looks good afterwards
but otherwise
I just whip up an ink wash
to give quick dark / light
and I mean whip it on
in under fifteen minutes

set it aside and
when I have forgotten about it
go back and tart it up
with a soft pencil

I can never get what I want
in one sitting
I always have to go back
and tune it up

I recall the high production
English watercolorists
they do a basic pencil sketch
and then zoom on the colour fast
nothing takes long
its that confidence
that looks so liquid
those old ladies started young
' and whipped off the stuff
stacked it up.
burnt their bad ones
' and left behind
a few nice pieces that still work
200 years later

nobody is born
knowing how too do art
nobody is born with talent
we all have to just whip through it
and ignore that voice inside
that tells you crap

that my good Ms Piper, is the devil shouting

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!