Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, May. 07, 2015 - 12:24 p.m.

Traditional Medicine Gone Wrong
**********************************

I watched an Al-Jazerra news agency video
of Afghani Drug Courts
where the most common charges are
possession for the purpose of trafficking --
almost always ...
poor illiterate Afghani farmers do not always
really understand the connection between
the opium they produce
and its destination for conversion into heroin
on the international black market

in rural Afghanistan
opium is a traditional folk medicine
120,000 hectares of folk medicine
every year without fail at gunpoint
the Taliban misrepresent themselves
as rural folk doctors
buying traditional medicine
to help poor sick people worldwide

something like how the Shining Path
misrepresent themselves as folk doctors
In Peru and Columbia
to the poor natives in the mountains
who produce football fields
of coca leaves for their Shining Path sponsors
for the production of cocaine
another traditional medicine gone wrong

There are so many bad people out there
I can't tell them from the good people

I say bust them all
and let God
sort them out

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!