Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, May. 30, 2015 - 3:43 p.m.

Retarded- a People's History
*****************************

The retarded as single tag
came about in the 90s
by radical family caregivers
of the challenged
trying to weed out
every other descriptor:
-retarded
-handicapped
-slow
-backwards
-impared
flush the term Downs syndrome
away completely so maybe it will noon away
" Retarded " was to be seen as a hateful word
like Nigger or fag or Kike
nobody was ever going to use it again
with a challenge and a dress down

it was a PR move that worked well
the special olympics were never so popular
since special people were now involved
and retarded people had disappeared
they even had international competitions
where the mildly retarded- opps -me bad
" less challenged " would compete in their own league
and the severely retarded - oops !
" proudly challenged "
just marched around in costumes
or holding flags and banners
great I suppose
if you like IQ apartheid

they wanted the singular term
" Challenged "
applied to fit all cases
its seemed more sporty
and gave no room for
grades or degrees of severity
which I found to be
rather retarded

your basic late 30 year old of today
came from that era of indoctrination
and will correct anyone
' who drifts from the script
its NOT RETARDED its ...something else
I guess they will always be that way
the same way old ladies
think fruity yogurt is healthy

The Anti -Retard Movement
Is an age-date- exposure thing
as far as I can tell
no retarded person ever corrected me
maybe they thought I was retarded

well fair enough

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!