Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Mar. 31, 2016 - 4:51 p.m.

TWIN RED BOY KITTENS IN MARCH
************************************

Here is a true little story
of the two red cat brothers
Frack is the dominate one
Moopla just sort of takes direction from Frack
its always been that way

They are always together. always
since the nice weather Frack has sort of
slipped away on his own
and only dashes inside to eat

when we go cat walking at midnight
I can always find Moola in the house
' but I have to whistle Frack in from wherever he is
He will walk with us and then not come in or
come in and leave at dawn


This absence is making Moola very sad

On the weekend Frack disappeared for three days
I was a little sad he had moved away
and Moola was frantic
crying and ripping up paper super clingy to me
always wanted to be on me
even when it was rather inconvenient

There was no consoling him
We would go walking around the streets
whistling for Frack who never showed up
Moola was going crazy
m,issuing his reason to live

so while he was whining
and kneading me under the covers one night
I tried my best to explain
that Frack is having an adventure
maybe he will come home
maybe he won't
We will just have to respect his choices
and live on ourselves

I absentmindedly slipped a little necklace
of plastic beads around his neck and stroked him to sleep

I forgot all about the necklace but noticed he had it on the next day and I had figured fior sure it would fall away
as it was loose and came on and off easily
Sad Moola moped around the house and into the yard with no other purpose in life than to take the necklace around

Then at night what I thought was Moola
crawled into bed with me in the dark
I stroked him and said comforting words
but there was no necklace
I guess he had finally dropped it
but switched on the l;light to make sure
It was Frack
come home

I searched for Moola who was sleeping in a closet
when he saw his brother he was delighted
I knew he was joyful by his little;e dance
It was if nothing had happened
Moola still wore the magic beads
but was acting differently
Moola was bold and stood up[right
he was assuring himself
next day Moola pushed hfs way
to the breakfast mat and ate first
I had never seen this
He began to want out first
and then in first
before all this
Moola had just gone along
with everything the dominating Frack did

I think Frack needed a break
from clingy brother to meet other cats
' since Frack likes other animals
and Moola does not
Frack is friendly to new people
and Moola hides
But since Moola snapped out of it
by wearing the magic necklace
everybody is even happier than before

They not only love each other
but there is an undercurrent of respect
that had not shown itself at all
Moola was the fall guy and
ended up last in everything
I felt obliged to treat him a little special
when he had been punched out and denied food
and was last in absolutely everything

They are better for the experience
and its easier to tell them apart
when one wears beads

I have to be honest
I frequently mix them up..
I have to really look close to who is who
since their colouring patterns
and size are eerily identical.
In the beginning I had to mark one
with a black marker
to make sure they booth got fed

Last night was the first warm air
from the south all year,
It was above zero
so we went to my favourite stretch on the beach
and I lit candles and tucked them in the rocks,
for dramatic effect
Now I know the cats
are very sensitive to lighting
the daylight,
the houselights,
my art desk light,
my bed reading light
the walking flashlight
all require certain specified behaviour
that we all understand
I took great pains to make all this clear
so we could all, mostly me,
not deal with havoc all the time

' When I lit candles at the waters edge
the cats were delighted
and ran up and down the sand
then crawled way up on the rocks and boulders
' I know they could see their own enormous shadows
being cast on the cliffs
and really were very pleased to see this
They walked around looking at each others
huge shadows they cast like dinosaur lions

The one light they still have trouble with
is car headlights,
All my neighbours know that
I walk the cats after hours
and that they are reckless on the road,
so they drive very slow past me
when I signal with the flashlight,

These cats just don't get it
how dangerous cars are
and how easily they will die
if they screw up even once

There is nothing I can do
In just
CLAP MY HANDS IN DISAPPOINTMENT
but that may be too late
Usually they are pretty good
but sometimes they are very reckless
and that could be a disaster
when they are feeling invincible together

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!