Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Aug. 02, 2016 - 9:27 p.m.

Some Enchanted Evening
**************************
I come home from the beach at dusk
after watching the sunset
and feeling the breeze change direction
and temperature as it blows in from the lake,
Like I always do approaching home
I whistle for the cats
so they can emerge from
whatever that are doing
to assemble and then I feed them.
Your basic meal plan for free roaming cats

But no cats
So I whistle again
and look around
nothing happening
in the neighbourhood at dusk
all the traffic has tapered off

I can see across the way
some action film with explosions
I can see but cannot hear
I whistle again
and from the corner if my eye
note silloette of someone
in the house across the way
stand up in front on the TV
stretch and then walk off

then their porch light comes on
then their front door opens
and out step my cats
I know them anywhere
and that house doesn't have any animals
Frack & Moola sit on the
porch railing watching me carious the way
I whistle again
and they start to walk over for their meal
freshly evicted from party central

They had been inside watching TV
with that family
thats the same house
that adjusts their AC blower
to play on them
as they lay on their living room rug
in hot weather
its their second home
by natural selection
AC & giant screen TV

The twin brother cats
are gaming the system
very well these days
I spoke to the lady about my cats
was she was taking our her garbage
a few weeks ago

she tells me Frack & Moola
are very well behaved
and a pleasure to have as guests
yes she confirmed,
she buys them cat treats
and now that she knows their names
addresses them when they
come on her porch or deck
she slips them goodies
during family bar b qs
such as yesterday which was
a civic holiday in Ontario
and that means hot meat
they seem so eager all the time
well yeah- they love meat
anytime they can get it

so between me
and the nice lady across the street
the twin red brother cats
are well anchored
in this neighbourhood
There is nowhere better to go
than right here

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!