Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Sept. 07, 2016 - 11:39 a.m.

last night I sort of intervened at
a young family house nearby
it was midnight and I was
WALKING PAST WITH THE CATS
as Mom & Dad shirked at each other
took turns calling the cops
the little five year old daughter i
n her pjs and wearing her school backpack
waited on the front porch
to see if she would spend the night with Mom,
Dad or far away Grammma

I was enlisted to guard the girl
while the parents worked out something inside
Luckily I had met up with the Mom marching around at midnight in the dark
she was on her way, drunk,
to get her car and drive away somewhere
alcohol and rage,plus darkness
she would have smashed into somebody on the highway
and been just one of a heap of corpses in a ditch

I didn't know the little girl
but I engaged her
using the cats
she was able to switch off the family scene and
focus on the cats
I used voices so they could speak to her
they know some of her friends down the street
she was delighted to tell the cats
she was worried
she has only been going too grade one for one day

anyway Mom and her & me
marched back here to use the phone
suddenly I see the advantages of a cellphone
the littlle girl thought my studio was wonderland
paints and pencils and paper toys books everywhere
I showed her some finished artwork
while Mom sobbed inches away to the Dad on the phone
little girl held my art gasped how did I do it ?
I pointed to the paints and bl;ank paper stack
she asked if the cats are allowed in here
I said they walk all over the table as I draw
its ok they are very well behaved
and showed her their bag of snacks nearby
she was wearing flashlight sneakers
that got brighter as she jumped for joy

anyway, we all walked back in the dark
to the original family home
a few blocks away
I let her use the cat flashlite to light our way
she needed some purpose
Mom just muttered, lost in grief but
the little girl had never walked around at night before
I pointed out that the world at night is the same one
as during the say.. you just have to be careful
watch out for skunks !

since Mom was wailing
the cats did not come along
even though the house was on our route

When we arrived
the calm but visibly annoyed
Dad was there with 911 on speed dial
Mom gets drunk and goes insane every few days
he tells me and the world in general
sometimes more often
Dad has to clean up
and put the girls to bed
he's tired of all this crap of drunkedness
Mom has to get help starting now
everybody shuffled inside except me

I said goodbye
I didn;t know the Dad
I knew the Mom from around town somewhat
had never met the daughter
here I was in the middle of their lives
awaiting the cops
discussing the details of restraining orders
which cat is the fattest
and do they sing any songs ?

surreal but thats life
cats and catastrophe

If they didn't want that little girl
I would have been happy for her
Frack & Moola would have been glad to have her around
but I did give her a small blank sketchbook as a gift
and a recomendation to have some adult order
" March of the Penguins" movie for her to watch on netflix
she said she loved penguins
I had no reason to doubt her

I slept in today
since there was so much drama
late last night
I guess this is just
part of the world forever
crazy drama adults
and little kids waiting for it to pass
so they can move out
and start living a real life

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!