Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Sept. 22, 2017 - 9:55 p.m.

I Love My Friends
_________________

I adore the people in my life
When I visit my different friends
its like visiting different planets
with different gravity on each planet
I am blessed with such distinct quirky
but total genius people in my life
They all struggle
They all have enjoyed super success
and endured profound failures
what we all have in common
is commitment to excellence
and the long wide learning curve
in our respective disciplines
At this stage of life
the amateurs have dropped out
and the serious ones are left stoking the furnaces
We are more different than the same
in almost every way imaginable
I sometimes wonder
how they can stand me
and me them
but we are anything but nice
we are fierce
show offs
eager to super nova
just for the hell of it

what else are we doing with our lives?

We will never be the audience
we will always be the show
never ready for Vegas
always ready to shine
and never shy about being that way

Today I visited my brilliant drummer friend
his movements are sincere his beats are clear
seriously, who is better than him? I can't say
he is so much himself tapping out his message
other musicians just fill in around him

and my brilliant piano friend
gruff and modest, tortured and estatic
when he suits down to play
its like the ocean


and my wonderful graphic artist friend
who knows more applied science
than most Phds,, she uses this minute
understanding in her work
to have all these energies at her command
to portray illustrate and show anything

And my young writer friend
who delights in watching weighing
life stream past-- committed to
full expression that snags my heart
he has tremendous range
playing a boy and an old man in the same hour

And me- I am my own friend
I can carve an idea out of paper
using words lines or colour as required
I can command a camera or a recording consol
I will perform in character
or direct others to be the
best version of themselves

I dare not stand back from the fire and
regard these angels in my midst
as anything less than semi divine

Flawed diamonds being slowly polished
facet by facet reflecting the light of Heaven
with nothing but constant motion
and diamond dust of jewels that came before us

Life is good and very forgiving
with our souls being polished thus
My friends are my heroes
and I know their history well
as they can discern my intent
and the fruits of my skill
I can vouch for their authenticity
and they can do the same of me

We are artists and driven towards the light
like a trees making flowers and fruit
Its what we do
and we do it to the
best of our ability
and it's beautiful
to have Heaven
without the Car Crash

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!