Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday Mar. 08, 2007 - 9:32 p.m.

Wide Screen Lion Hunt
*************************


I no sooner had Jinky home
than I wrestled him down
and attached the new ID tag
onto his little blue collar.
He didn't care-
a caress is a caress
twenty minutes later
fed and breath reeking of catfood
he makes gestures he has to go outside
maybe his litter box days are over
maybe hes doing the great escape
...I will have to trust him

BAD IDEA

he runs up the driveway
and disappears around the fence

Three hours later the phone rings
a lady asks if I have lost a red cat
I say yes
she tells me he followed her
to the Video rental store
and ran inside
where everybody was glad to see him
but nobody recognised him
as I was coating up to go get him
the phone rang
it was a girl I knew from around
she worked at the video store
and said she was closing soon
could I please come get my cat?

I raced over
I could see him through the window
watching action movies
on the in store giant screen TV
as the girl rubbed
her face in his belly
ya it was him-
Jinky- mighty red haired
lover of girls
as much as they loved him

that's a lot of runaways since Christmas
at least with the tag
he is discovered sooner
it will not prevent him from running away
it will just make it easier to get him back
I don't have to worry about him being shy

I go to Tim Hortons for a meeting tonight
and three different people
ask me " Where is your cat tonight?"
They have all heard about
his amasing adventures
of running away
and moving in with several different families
and how charming and upbeat he is
and how cute and friendly he is
I guess they are waiting til he runs away
and moves into their house

In spring I will seek out all the people
who have helped raise my kitten this winter
and give them cuttings off my prize red peony
which I will officially name
" Jinky Marvel "

its an old lost variety I rescued
from the back of some
long vanished
19th century
cabin in the woods
the original peony living there
in the tangled up forest eaten garden
just hanging on in the shade
growing so slowly
it hadn;t flowered in decades
I took it home,
divided it and nursed it back to vigour
and after three years
I had several specimens
and last year one plant flowered
it was a definate real old style red peony
a heritage garden expert neibour verified it
as an un cataloged variety

and she said I can register a name
I haven't named it but now I will
its the Jinkly Marvel
-red and wild and beautiful
I have the front of the yard
planted out in them-
a handsome ten foot row
of lost world peonies
they should all flower this year
I dump his catbox on them so
its an authentic Jinky peony
I figgured that was the best use of the
extra nitrogen of kitten poop
-to make beautiful flowers

I will have mini cuttings
of this rare peony
available this year
Its hard to introduce a new peony
rescued from a tiny slip retrieived from
a whisp of tissue deep inside
the overgrown pioneer garden
of a 19th C Niagara homestead
maybe if kittens pooped in the woods
like bears do
it wouldn't be so hard
but they don't


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!