Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Jun. 30, 2007 - 10:25 p.m.

Whistle & Bell
***************

Our big summer concert was tonight
it was a major success
we had big fun
gave out veggie foods
and prople brought baked goods
and left them on the common table
and everybody
helped themselves
the whole town was there
on blankets listening to the music
and poetry
and having their kids
faces painted
and the girls
body painted each other
and yibbered into their cells phones
mostly talking to friends
just a few feet away
as band after band wailed on
each new one
better than the one before it
I had a full day and then some
tided up with the slaves
at the end of the show
knocked down
locked down
then was ceremoniously
dumped on my driveway
at midnight
with a crate of gear

after I took it indoors
I went back outside
to see if I missed anything

I saw the full moon
winking at me
huge and clear
the clouds were
werewolf dramatic
the air sweet and cool
with a vague promise of rain
I just stood
and looked

on a whim I whistled
long and loud
the Jinky supper song

and then I heard
from far away
a tiny bell ringing
getting louder and louder
I looked up the dark empty road
& could barely make out
the vague bouncing form
of a small red object
running towards me
as it got closer
I could see it was Jinky
with catbell of glory
running home
as fast as he could
alone on the middle of the road
lit by flashes of moonlight
he looked as if
he was a fish swimming
in silvery water
if the road
when he got here
he was out of breath
but was glad to see me
I scratched his head
and he wiggled in delight

I suppose he ran a half a mile
at top speed
just to get his head scratched
in the moonlight

I know he runs away a lot
but he also runs back a lot
like everytime
usually
I fed him an extra supper
he seemed rather happy
with a moonlight pic nic

I wonder where he was
and what he was doing
when he heard my whistle?
and why he decided
to leave it and run home?

when he is lost to me
he is not lost to himself

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!