Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, May. 24, 2008 - 9:28 p.m.

the Errand
***********

As i was going that way anyway
would I be so good as to
pick up a litre of
unsweetened soya milk
that's UN-sweetened.
the UN part was very important
shes from Califoirnia
and this is her first day in Canada
actually her first day
ever out of the Exicted States America
and she's stressed enough as it is
so something that reminds her of home
would be essential
to her well being
as a visitor
and make sure its organic:
give her the impression
shes not stuck in some hole

So I look in three stores:
no soya products
of any kind except bac o bits
so i walk clear across town
to the little Asian shop
their order for the week
will be there in half an hour
so I putz around in the park for 28 minutes
watching robot men cut lawns
and stroll back to the Asian shop
and wait for the delivery which does indeed arrive on time
and the nice lady digs out a litre of soya milk
we check that its
unsweetened
but there is no way to tell for sure
if its certified organic

so I walk it back across town
back to her apartment
above the appliance store
climb the stairs
I knock and am admitted
abd surrender the litre of soya milk
the girl and her California cousin
were just sitting around
waiting for me to get back
they had made tea
but it was all gone

" Did you get unsweetened ?"
" yes I did " I can say with confidence
:" I made sure of it "
so they have a sigh of relief

pops the lid off the litre of soya milk'
sniffs fror freshness
pulls out two bowls
and a box of coca puffs
fills two bowls with the
distinctive brown sugary pellets
then soaks it all down with
unsweetened soya milk

- what the- !

girl asks me if i wanted some
I say no thanks
I ate a pound of raw bacon
on the way over

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!