Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2008 - 9:02 p.m.

18 days til Christmas


so much to ignore
so ma many tangerines
so little time
and if i remember correctly
the day after new years
everybody slips into depression mode
vowing never to worship christmas crapola
-or get into debt again
-or buy expensive crap for indifferent people
-eat sweet greasy mounds of trash
-drink alcohol til they're numb
or broke or both
-smoke $60 worth of pot
outside in the freezing wind
with a bunch of moron
whos only claim to intimacy
is an accident of birth
-hit on unsuitable lovers,
no matter how lonely
- travel for hours to see people
who would rather
you just email them
and not actually come over
-watch stale old christmas movies
with kids who don't remember them,
remember you, or know the scene with jesus
-pretend to care about sports,
politics, weddings,
hospital procedures,
new cars, lame vacations,
blurry pictures on infants in blankets,
computer upgrades or laptops,
dogs wearing christmas clothes
, Obama or Ottawa,
or meltdowns in the stock market,--

i don't do any of this
but i do have to hear about it
for a few hours every year

for behold, these are my people
and this is what is sacred to them
they may fear art
distrust innovation
recoil at simplicity
become enraged when my choices
do not mirror theirs
but they put up with me
and my retarded outlook
my stupid priorities
and calculated indifference
to traditional classic compliance to
societal venues of normalacy
aka- the sure career path to Beigetown
where ' fit in or fuck off ' is law

yet they feed me
yet they endure me
ask after my cat
and wish me well in whatever
the hell it is I actually do

they are better souls than me
because they do not
blog in vain against me
as I blog in vain against them


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!