Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Sept. 17, 2009 - 11:10 p.m.

Happy Alone
*************

I had supper with
recently married couple
both of whom I knew
before they got together
and they were taking turns
trying to convince the other one'
that they knew me better,
for longer,
and that it was truly them
who had forged the greater bond
with whats-his-face over there
scarfing down the spaghetti

That was most unpleasant
to have been the soccer ball
in their playoffs of
one up-man/woman- ship

Oh no ! more angry wine spilled
in salutation to their union
and all new appliances
as I look on in
low grade horror

Honesty is one thing
but decency is honesty and more
something like a blend of respect
& appreciation as required

Suddenly I feel sorry
for their dog

dessert is still in its white paper bag
on the counter
slowly getting stale
this is not going well
dredging up people from highschool
neither of them liked
Where are they now?
Probably happy & prosperous
somewhere far away
minding their own business
hopefully sober and getting on

Oh. so you collect wine ?
you have a few cases left over
from your wedding reception
and bring out a bottle
for every supper
just like Europeans
except you aren't European
you are Canadian goofs
revving up a drinking problem
and this land is awash in grapes
and functioning alcoholics

And to think how fun and exciting
both of them were in art college
when we were going to
take on the whole world
and shape destiny
in our spare time

Then they found each other
and stopped all that anarchy
and started up the domestic engine
of the vehicle they are driving around their apartment tonight
howbeit with an alternative colour scheme

This has s happened before
championed by married friends
as they fight in front of me
get drunk and probe into my
stupid little life


When am I going to settle down?
I thought I had settled down
to a life of art
exploration of ideas
appreciation of my surroundings
my friends and neighbors
my cat & garden
and ability to entertain
myself and others

But to have someone special in my life?
Everybody in my life
is special
if they weren't special
they wouldn't be
in my life

Who will take care of you
when you get sick?
I stay healthy
and if I did get sick
I would just sleep through it

I resent having to explain
what I am doing
to anyone who is not doing
the same thing

I don;t like to
owe anybody
money
an apology
an explanation

civilized discussion
is best applied to ideas
not problems .
.if you ask me
and if you have to ask..
please don't

I need a vacation
from this vacation


 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!