Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Nov. 12, 2009 - 9:18 p.m.

Closer to the Gravy
*********************

after days of just run in
eat something and run out again
I figured my dear Taser
was a grown up big man cat
and didn't need me anymore
except as a kibble dribbler
and on demand doorman

OK I can say I had a great
1.5 years with him
s curious kitten boy
who needed me to sort of
guide him past the dangers of traffic
the deviousness of dogs
and the wonders of the lake I knew he would someday be 100% independent
and then move on
that was the plan-
I help him be who he really is
and he becomes that cat
and we both feel proud and thats that

the big surprise tonight was
he ran inside ate his food
and then ran over
and just jumped on my lap
and started purring up a storm
as I rubbed him and sang to him
he just became happier
Its not _that cold in here
he's not -that lonely

I guess I a wrong
about Taser growing
into pre planned indifference
using me s a jumping off point
to best attain his kitty destiny
but no-
I am delighted that
he genuinely just wanted to
happy it up on me
just happy for the sake
of being happy

so as I sip tea and type
one handed again'
I reach down
and pat my most excellent cat
Taser the Amazer
and togerher we are still
the friends we started out as
only more so
no bad times'
no fights
no harsh words
we just managed to
get along somehow just fine-

no complicated explanations
just happy to be happy
there will be a long winter ahead
and it will be uncertain but I will
gladly pay for all the extra
that cold weather demands
so that w can be happy here
and step out in spring glad
and proud and full of dreams
his will likely be more
squirrel oriented than mine
and he won't worry about
artistic validity as much as i will

I don;t worry about coyotes at all this winter-
he's big enough to avoid them and run away
and the Ministry of the Environment shot a lot of them over the summer
because they were
killing a lot of chickens
and had attacked some sheep

that trespass was their death sentence
and Tasers passport to safety
I am sorry that coyotes were killed
but I am happy that there are now
far fewer of them around now
to menace the cat community
of which Taser is
a full patch member
in good standing
all four feet standing

and I learn my that my neighbour
feeds Taser meat scraps in his yard
from his sunday venison roasts
because Taser seems to love them
and neighbour hates to waste
a single atom of any deer he has killed

the balance of nature
sometimes comes with
a little gravy

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!