Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Feb. 02, 2018 - 12:47 a.m.

A Boy Named Sue
******************
I have to sue somebody.
I gave them every reasonable chance to pay me
but they won;t, or can't
and so far, aren't.
Its a lot of money
I did good work they accepted and used
that advanced their business
but they decided they won;t be paying
for any of it. And I should go away
They no longer like me anymore

Fine.. I am used to rejection
but I don't like it

I just sent them a registered letter
reminding them that the account is due
which the client ignored.
I now have a paper trail of reasonable demands
to get paid that I can show in court
All a judge can judge on is the paper
all the talk in the world means nothing
without proof and goodwill

So I called a Para Legal service and
explained my situation
Luckily I was briefed on the reality of law
before calling so I had an idea of
where to narrow the focus
and what was fact
and what was emo wind

I don;t need encouragement
or validation or support
I just need a third party
to put on some heat
to a cold client
'who hopes I will feel sad about
how disappointed he is I am suddenly
so into the money
and so I should go away
and forget about
getting paid.
because he said so

Its been a somewhat hungry winter
because I never got paid for
a lot of summer and autumn freelance work.
And now I have to invest
yet more time and money
to salvage a fat invoice
and it's the jungle
I have to fight him to eat
and I will
and I will win
and I won't care
if he has to borrow from relatives
sell his car or guitars
to come up with the money.


I am surprised at how _un upset I am
about suing someone I had worked closely with
had lunch with, met his girlfriend
patted his cat, ate at his table
been at his house working late
staying up all night to meet a morning deadline
so he could make his deadline.

Never complaints about my work
or my attitude on the job
or my commitment to the project
or level of service

'he just doesn;t want to pay me

I guess because
any money he gives me
he won;t have anymore for himself
yeah-- that's right

It;s not when he gets extra money pay me
it's pay when the invoice appears

So, I know his backer is a Dentist
and there is money to be had
So I will have to sue the dentist
who cannot afford to take days off
to sit in court or defend the project
I have spoken to the dentist on the phone
and he's clueless.. he;s just the paymaster
investor who was smart enough
to keep away from the actual production
and just fund it from afar
let others do the work and take the punches
so he can own the bigger piece of the profit
down the road
and realize a nice return on his investment
Maybe he will
but not at my expense
I guess he will find out the hard way


I guess they all banked on
me being upset by their rejection and anger
and then walking away
with nothing

Well guess what ?
Somebody will be selling their guitars and car
if they want to stay out of debtors prison
Let them yell at each other
let them make up any reason they want
to not like me anymore
They don't like me now

Maybe I will end up with a car
and some guitars
I would never seize his cat
my own cats are wonderful enough
and I don;t want his girlfriend
he can keep her
maybe she'll yell at him
for dodging paying me
as the grief cloud positions itself
over his house
and blows away from mine

It is a bit of a drag I have to pay out
$1000 to start the legal machine
to get paid...and probably more later
but hey, I don't stiff anyone working
to deliver me to my success destination
I know how it feels
when someone does that to me

May the best man win
and may I be the best man

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!